PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Frozen Purple screen on restart

Jerry_Price
May 28th, 2014, 11:56 PM
I am new to Ubuntu and I am trying to install Ubuntu 14.04LTS onto a Toshiba Tecra M5 T2600 @2.16 Ghz with 3G Ram with Nvidia Quadro NVS110M.
All appeared to go well and I was asked to restart but on restarting it freezes after I enter my password.
Twice now whilst trying to restart I have managed to get it to "recovery mode" (not quite sure how) and it has loaded Ubuntu successfully. It mentioned that in recovery mode certain graphics would not work but that a "full Graphic reboot was required"?.
On shutting down normally and restarting it returns to the frozen Purple screen. On this last occasion after some time a black screen appeared with:
[107.103680] nouveau E [GPU lockup - switching to software fbcom
I have logged in and I'm sitting at a flashing prompt but not sure what I should do next. After some time it displayed a message ........ corrupted low memory a number of times......... and shut it self down.
I have read through "sticky note 1" but am somewhat lost on what to do next
Appreciate any help

sudodus
May 29th, 2014, 06:23 PM
I think you can try a boot option. See these link (maybe the simplest thing would be to reinstall with one or more boot options, for example nomodeset.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BootOptions

Later on it might work to install an nvidia proprietary driver for the graphics.

Jerry_Price
May 30th, 2014, 03:25 AM
Thanks for the reply Sudodus
Not sure I understand the reboot options, I am working from an installed version of ubuntu and not from a disk.... and excuse me if I have missed your point.