PDA

View Full Version : problem installing firefox on Ubuntu 10.10

dan103
May 28th, 2014, 05:31 PM
Being a complete newbie, re: anything Linux/Unix/Ubuntu related, I could use some serious help with my very first complete install of Ubuntu. I have a good knowledge of Windows installation; but, that's not the problem.

I had started with ver 14.04 but ran into issues with the particular machine I was using (as it was already dual-booting into WinXP and Win7). So, I decided to use an older Dell OptiPlex GX110. It has a 900MHz PIII chip, 512mb of RAM, 20GB drive and XP SP3 already installed (running quite well, surprisingly). Figuring it was best to use an older version of Ubuntu, I happened to have downloaded, some time ago, version 10.10.

Using a free partition management software (Aeomi Partition manager) I carved out a 6GB logical drive and created a 2GB extended partition inside it.

The Ubuntu install went very well (amazingly for my first try), but now I would like to upgrade the Firefox 3.6 to a newer version and possibly install Chrome as well, if at all possible.

Again, my Ubuntu/Linux knowledge is very limited, so I anticipated that it would require a simple file download, then run the typical "setup.exe" or "install.exe" file; Wrong! ](*,)

After downloading a "tar" file (whatever that is) I realized it had to be extracted; but, where and what to do after? :confused:

Not a clue.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Dan

Bucky Ball
May 28th, 2014, 05:50 PM
You'd have problems installing lots of things on 10.10. It hasn't been supported for ages. I would avoid going online with it. I'd advise using 12.04 LTS if 14.04 is not working for you. Use something like Lubuntu or Xubuntu even, or try a minimal install. I'm surprised you're getting half decent results with Ubuntu 10.10 using 512Mb of RAM, though. 14.04 wouldn't like that and neither will 12.04 if you stick with a straight Ubuntu install.

dan103
May 28th, 2014, 09:29 PM