PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] IcedTea Plugin Not Working After Update-Chrome

jcjanko
May 20th, 2014, 10:04 PM
For reference, I am a Linux newbie/beginner, using 14.04. I could not find anything about this exact issue recently, so if it is a recurring issue I did not see it.

I was on my computer and need to use WizIQ for online tutoring. I always check my system before each session to ensure there are no problems. So I just updated my computer (there was a Chrome update listed), and Java no longer works. The WizIQ website shows Java as "failing," so I tried the Java website. It to says I need to download Java. I was using the IcedTea plugin. Therefore:

-I uninstalled and reinstalled IcedTea, nothing
-Uninstalled and installed Oracle Java 8, nothing
-Uninstalled and installed Oracle Java 7, nothing

I then checked my other computer that I had not yet updated. I first tested WizIQ, and it passed. I then checked the Java tester, and it passed, showing the IcedTea plugin. So I updated the system, confirmed there was a Chrome update, installed the updates, and it failed at both websites.

NOTE: Everything works fine in Firefox throughout all of these steps, but Chrome is the only compatible browser for my sessions for other reasons. Also, when I say "install/uninstall," I am using directions from forums like this one, and askubuntu, so that may be an issue.

I just completely wiped out any mention of Java from my system again, and started from scratch. Nothing is working. I have been checking the plugins, and I have JavaScript allowed, but when I go to "Disable individual plugins..." there is no mention of Java (not sure if there should be).

I apologize if I missed something simple. I am going to uninstall and reinstall Chrome, as I am sure that will work, but doesn't solve the problem in the long run.

jcjanko
May 20th, 2014, 10:36 PM