PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Is there a way to install 10.04 default theme on 14.04? Maybe something similar?

03927e9c
May 13th, 2014, 07:09 AM
Hello, I've been using Ubuntu for five years, back in 2010 I installed 10.4 and never upgraded until now, I just installed 14.4 (from zero, removing the older one) and first of all I hate Unity so I got rid of it installing gnome-flasback, but I also want to use the icons and theme from Ubuntu 10.4, these are horrible (it's just a matter of each one). So, is there a way I can install it? Or something very similar?

Thanks in advance.

OFF TOPIC: I tagged the thread with "lubuntu", please change it to "ubuntu".

Frogs Hair
May 13th, 2014, 03:02 PM
You could try the following themes . I did get the old icons to work by extracting the folders from the.deb,renaming them ubuntu-mono 10.04 and placing them in home .icons. Caution Installing from the .deb will conflict with the currently installed theme.

http://packages.ubuntu.com/lucid/all/ubuntu-mono/download

http://www.noobslab.com/2014/04/ambiance-crunchy-themes-updated-install.html

grahammechanical
May 13th, 2014, 03:13 PM
The problem is not with Ubuntu or with Unity but with Gnome DE. It is now at version 3 and this means that all the themes that worked with Gnome 2 and Gnome panel do not work with Gnome 3 because there were not built by the GKT that Gnome 3 presently uses. You need to find themes built using GTK3.

http://gnome-look.org/index.php?xcontentmode=167

By the way, since you mentioned it. I hate that old fashioned look. You love it. I hate it. But why mention it in the first place? If you want help. just ask and if we can we will help. But leave aside personal tastes. It is not the Ubuntu way. It causes arguments.

buzzingrobot
May 13th, 2014, 03:31 PM
The Gnome in 10.04 used Gtk2. Gnome3 and many current themes are built on Gtk3. Themes need to support Gtk2 and Gtk3 to correctly display Gtk2 and Gtk3 apps.

hitman2k9
May 13th, 2014, 07:03 PM