PDA

View Full Version : Procrastination

Tony Flury
May 12th, 2014, 04:34 PM
As a hobby developer I am often plagued by my own procrastination. My worst example :

I started developing a game which has been whizzing in my head for years. I got some of it written (enough to get something reasonable on screen), and then realised it was getting complex already, so I started to try to use pydoc - to keep track of the various modulesclasses etc. I hated the screen layouts and colours of pydoc - so, instead of putting up with it, I firstly investigated how to change it to make the colours more palatable, and then I wrote my own - complete with webserver, web page output, and allowing for starting the web server as a daemon. I then realised that I was loosing track of what I had developed and what I hadn't in my game, so I wrote my own requirements tracking system, including supporting decomposition, and finally ready to start work on the game, I sat down and started typing: the player's guide to the game. So after an inital 3 week burst of development on the game, I have not written a line of game code in almost 4 months - although I have written two other fully functional "development support tools", and 20+ pages of documentation :-). My excuse though is that during this period I have been off-ill from work, and my concentration levels have not been what they should be.

What is your worst example of procrastination (i.e. putting something off by doing other things).

tgalati4
May 13th, 2014, 06:19 AM
I have some cracked tile on my back porch that I need to repair. But I engage in something called "creative avoidance"--doing something creative because it is more interesting than fixing broken tile. So I am here, on this forum, anwsering your post.