PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Install Problem

2ndCharter
May 7th, 2014, 04:41 PM
Greetings,

First I must say I am a complete Linux noob. I am quite adept at Windows but want to try Ubuntu as a dual boot on my laptop. I have a cd burned with the 14.04 LTS Desktop for 64 bit machines and am attempting an install on a Toshiba Satellite U840. I have previously shrunk the existing OS partition and have 150 GB of free unallocated space.

I have made several unsuccessful install attempts and keep getting hung up at the same spot. For reference, I am following the install guide at https://help.ubuntu.com/community/GraphicalInstall.

I get past the "Preparing to install Ubuntu" step but I never get the prompt displayed under "Installation type" as shown in that install guide. What I get instead is a blank table, a "+", "-" and "Change..." button and a dropdown that has "/dev/sda" as the only option for "Device for boot loader installation". This view I am seeing is akin to the 5th screen located at the following install tutorial:

http://www.linuxtechi.com/ubuntu-14-04-installation-guide/

However, the differences are that I don't have that drive space graphic, the details listed under the table (Device, Type, Mount point etc.) nor options after the /dev/sda option like you see in that graphic. The "New Partition Table..." and "Revert" buttons are disabled. I can click the "Install Now" button but I'm afraid to since I'm obviously not seeing anything like what both install guides are showing me.

Does anyone have any insight into what I should do to get the install to do a side-by-side install as a dual boot with my existing Windows OS?

grahammechanical
May 7th, 2014, 06:39 PM
One of the first screens that we see should give us options like these,

Install Ubuntu alongside
Erase disk and install Ubuntu
Encrypt the new Ubuntu installation for security
Use LVM with the new Ubuntu installation
Something Else