PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Dual boot Ubuntu 14.04 and windows 8.1 on toshiba satellite

pigmelt
May 7th, 2014, 06:13 AM
its been a long time sence i have used Ubuntu so i feel like a complete beginner.
i have a toshiba satellite P875-S7310 laptop it has an i7 processor and 8 gig of ram, i would like to dual boot Ubuntu 14.04 and windows 8.1. i have resized windows with windows tools and have about 350 gigs unallocated space on hard drive. i have been reading a lot of posts in the forums and am almost in information over load. i am using the live session from dvd to post this so i know that most everything works that way. when i go to install Ubuntu does not see windows at all so i went to "something else" it sees the ntfs partitions and unallocated disk space but i'm not sure how to proceed with the partitioning for Ubuntu. if i go ahead and install to the whole hard drive can i use the restore dvds i burned when i first got the laptop and reload windows? if i can then i may just go that route. i do have some games on steam that i like but they are not on linux so the only reason for windows is gameing.

squakie
May 7th, 2014, 08:44 AM