PDA

View Full Version : Cannot Install Ubuntu

david205
May 5th, 2014, 06:55 AM
I'm a beginner with Linux in general, and only know the common sense portion of computers in general, maybe a bit more. I'm smart and learn fast though and im trying to install Ubuntu on my Lenovo B575 Laptop. It has no operating system install on it currently. I've already burned the ISO, but couldn't figure out how to check the MD5, i tried but eventually gave up and moved on. (probably not the smartest idea, i know.) But after i install Ubuntu, using any of the options, and even partioning the HDD myself, It says it was successful, But never will boot Ubuntu. All i get are Media test failure errors...? I've tried everything a beginner like i am can google, but I've reached a dead end and need to ask for help. I'm willing to work as closely as you need, and give any information you want of the laptop. It previously ran Windows 7.

Cpu: AMD E-350 Processor
RAM: 4GB
1MB L2 Cache
System BIOS shadowed
Video BIOS shadowed
BIOS Version: 52CN11WW

Thanks! :)

EDIT: When i run the install disk it says "Could not open "\EFI\BOOT\fallback.efi": 14"

EDIT2: when i check disk for defects i get the result:
error: file `/boot/grub/x86_64-efi/zfs.mod' not found.
error: file `/boot/grub/x86_64-efi/tar.mod' not found.
error: file `/boot/grub/x86_64-efi/sfs.mod' not found.
error: file `/boot/grub/x86_64-efi/nilfs2.mod' not found.
error: file `/boot/grub/x86_64-efi/minix.mod' not found.
error: file `/boot/grub/x86_64-efi/afs.mod' not found.
error: file `/boot/grub/x86_64-efi/affs.mod' not found.
error: unknown filesystem.
unaligned pointer 0xb00e6c88
aborted.

Bucky Ball
May 5th, 2014, 07:19 AM
Thread moved to Installation & Upgrades.

You may have more luck here and you've made it clear you're a beginner so helpers will be gentle with you. ;)