PDA

View Full Version : create new GLUT project in code block, GLUT location?

stormy2
May 3rd, 2014, 03:12 PM
Hello everyone :3

i just started useing Linux Ubuntu 14.04 and want's to learn OpenGL programming.

i have some experiencew with C programming in windows with Code::Blocks IDE. so i use Code::Blocks here in Linux.

the question is:
then i create a new GLUT project in Code::Blocks i it asks: "Please Select GLUT's Location" where is that location.
i try'd to select "usr" folder because it has the subfolders: "include" and "lib" but it did't work.

Please help me out. this is my first post on this forum. i am very new in this linux OS and want's to create software for Linux users (well, that's my dream ;3)

steeldriver
May 3rd, 2014, 04:15 PM
Hello and welcome to the forums

If you are referring to the freeglut3-dev headers, they usually go in /usr/include/GL

See http://packages.ubuntu.com/trusty/amd64/freeglut3-dev/filelist

You will need to install that package if you haven't already done so

stormy2
May 3rd, 2014, 04:29 PM
Thank you very much for a quick reply :3

i have installed freeglut3-dev headers and i have all the files display'd in the link.
when i select "/usr/include/GL" it comes with this error:
{
Script error

the path you enterned seems valid, but the wizard can't locate the include directory.
This wizard cannot continue.
}

Related image:
http://gyazo.com/03687f26494927e752698dad48d6a481

steeldriver
May 3rd, 2014, 04:47 PM
Hmm... I've looked into this a bit more, and it seems like the codeblocks glut project wizard is designed to work with glut not freeglut, and just doesn't like the way that freeglut organizes its files - I don't know where to go from there

I suspect it should be possible to create a regular project (ignore the glut wizard) and just set the include and lib paths appropriately - but let's wait and see if someone more knowledgeable chimes in - sorry

stormy2
May 3rd, 2014, 04:50 PM
Oke, Thank you very much for your time :3