PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Will Upgrading to 14.04 Wipe Out Data?



Rick St. George
May 1st, 2014, 02:34 PM
Showing upgrade available to 14.04, but forgot if upgrading will wipe out Bookmarks, Saved Files, Email, etc.

Thanks!
Rick

dannyboy79
May 1st, 2014, 03:51 PM
it does not, it will only upgrade system applications. if during the upgrade it's going to replace a configuration file that you had modified, it will ask you whether you want to keep your modified version or replace it with the maintaners version, there's even an option to see the differences. what I always do is note which file it is, then go make a copy to a flash drive of it and then get back to the upgrade window and i tell it to install the maintainers version of the file and then when the upgrade is all done I will go and review the files that I had copied to a usb stick and edit the newly installed config files on the system with anything applicable

good luck. my upgrade from 12.04 to 14.04 went smoothly

Rick St. George
May 1st, 2014, 03:52 PM
Reply #6 at this Thread answered my question.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2217017

Thanks also, Danny Boy!