PDA

View Full Version : ubuntu 14.04 lts directory cleanup script "ip cam"

shawn14
April 23rd, 2014, 05:00 PM
I am used to windows and dos. now its time i learn a few new things about other operating systems

I am very new to linux unix ubuntu what ever. i am running on an old: inspiron 530s, 991.5 MiB RAM, Intel® Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2160 @ 1.80GHz × 2, Intel® G33 x86/MMX/SSE2, 32-bit OS, disk 77.6 GB.

I don't know the first thing about ubuntu and how to make a script auto start or what to expect from the native system.

I think I would need a step by step instruction on how to create a script. to maintain a directory. it can only get so full and old files can be deleted to maintain the directory. i am using 2 easyn ip cam's fs series and ftp into this machine stated above. i have it forwarding to the this ftp every second.

my ftp is pureftp server -- pureadmin v0.4 for gui
i made a directory in my home directory that the ftp puts the files.
/dadscam
in that directory is.
/cam1
/cam2

unless there is a program already out there i think i need a script.

thank you

i am still searching google. put don't see anything user friendly or step by step. sorry if i annoy you with this thread. i am very new to ubuntu.

the picture file names go something like this:

00A00107151A(IP\ Camera\ 2)_1_20140422200106_2852.jpg
file size are approximately 50.1kb
I am using approximately 8gb out of 66gb of hard drive from 6gb in the last 12 hrs

i think it would be wise to think about the size of the hard drive and the hours i can keep. eg. keep 24hr 48hr or 72hr etc.

i think i have more of a ram problem then a hard drive issue. i found this out by trying to access the cam1 directory threw the GUI. wow it stalled or lagged. but it seemed a lot easier access threw the terminal.

thank you for reading this far.

#!/bin/bash
# ip-cam-ftp-cleanup.sh
# _______ __ __ ________ _________
# / ___ \ | | | | | __ | /
# \ \ \_/ | | | | | | | | |
# \ \ | | / | | | | | |