PDA

View Full Version : Can't log into ubuntu after installing a fresh copy of window

Calvert
April 23rd, 2014, 10:57 AM
Hi,

I installed a fresh copy of window which previously the hdd also contain Ubuntu. How do I get back the part where the bios will give me the OS selection to boot?

I tried running a bootable usb for ubuntu and repair using boot-repair but it seems nothing changed.

Is there a way to add that in in window or any other ways that can recover it? I hope it is not too difficult as I am very new to linux.

Thanks in advance.

Double.J
April 23rd, 2014, 12:03 PM
Hi there!

You're absolutely correct that boot repair is pretty much the easiest was to get back to where you were. What could matter is if it's a newer windows 8 laptop or an older xp/vista/7 machine. If it's an older laptop with a bios, the following should help:

if you boot the live disk and the open a terminal with ctrl+alt+t, and type

sudo fdisk -l we can get an idea of how your disk is partitioned.

basically you want to make sure that boot repair installs grub to the first sector of the hdd (/dev/sdX where X is a letter, not followed by a number)

if it is a newer windows 8 laptop, then you are using uefi and gpt partition table - if you've made a bios partition on the drive you'd need to install to there

from inside windows there is easy BCD, but again this depends which windows version you are running?

Jj

Calvert
April 23rd, 2014, 01:08 PM
Hi,

Thanks for your reply and well I didn't get much of it though.

I am running WIndow 7 pro, sorry that I didn't mention and you said first sector which means the window partition?

Form gparted in Ubuntu where I boot up using usb, /dev/sda3 is the place where my Ubuntu is. /dev/sda2 is my Window 7 and /dev/sda is the system reserved of window.

I tried using the boot repair and choose for the recommended choice and I didn't go for the advance button but nothing happen.

If I'm not mistaken easybcd is not a free software, right?

robire