PDA

View Full Version : LVM on clean install

npinn001
April 16th, 2014, 01:40 PM
Hi,

So I've never worked with LVM before and I could do with a bit of help please. I'm going to install a setup like follows:

/boot 200MB
LVM partition (spanning rest of drive and a 1TB drive)
/ 20GB
/home 50GB
Swap
/files rest of drive (1GB+)

Questions are as follows:

1) Do I need the seperate boot partition?
2) Should i format the /files drive as something other than EXT4 - ZFS?
3) When I come to do a clean install of Ubuntu at next release, can I use the existing LVM setup and just format /boot and /root?

Thanks so much!

Double.J
April 16th, 2014, 04:01 PM
Hi there!

used lvm with my red hat a little bit.

you do need a seperate boot. Just like btrfs, the bootloader requires a standard primary/logical partition in ext2-4 to hand over to. Lvm translation comes in with the kernel as i understand it.

You can format the partitions a while range of filesystems. Is there a reason to? For example you can make an ntfs partition inside an lvm, but windows can't read it. I stick with ext4, but then I don't need anything else.

As i say, i've not used an LVM to install ubuntu, but I've had an lvm on my system whilst installing ubuntu. In short an lvm aware installer such as fedora/red hat lets me read and modify my old lvm just like normal partitioning.

unfortunately I can't remember if ubiquity can read lvm's, sorry!

Jj

steeldriver
April 16th, 2014, 04:16 PM
Hmm... are you sure about that? The standard 12.04 Server ISO happily allowed me to install without a separate /boot:

$ df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/t60p-root 89G 6.3G 78G 8% /
udev 1.5G 4.0K 1.5G 1% /dev
tmpfs 303M 396K 303M 1% /run
none 5.0M 0 5.0M 0% /run/lock
none 1.5G 0 1.5G 0% /run/shm
$
$ mountpoint /
/ is a mountpoint
$ mountpoint /boot
/boot is not a mountpoint

It uses the whole disk as a single PV/VG with LVs for /dev/mapper/hostname-root and /dev/mapper/hostname-swap