PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Will install from USB erase my drive?

husseinmoussa
April 11th, 2014, 01:24 AM
My laptop:
acer 5750G
i5
4GB RAM
500 HDD

I have win7 (on partition C) and linux mint installed *inside* it (on partition D).

I have my HDD partitioned into: C (30 GB) and D (The rest)

I just made a USB Xubuntu 13.10 to try. My questions are:

If I wanted to install:

1- Can I choose the partition D to install it on? and if I can.

2- Will the installation erase the whole partition?

3-Is there a way to install xubuntu (13.10 or 12.04.4) *inside* windows?

================================================== ==========================
I know they are noob questions, not saying that I'm an expert here, but sometimes you just can't find the exact answer you're looking for.
I hope I can find my answer.
================================================== ==========================

And please, explain as simply as possible :)

monkeybrain20122
April 11th, 2014, 01:36 AM
What do you mean installing inside Windows? If you mean WUBI the answer is no. It is no longer supported and frankly, if you want to use Ubuntu, at least have the commitment of giving it its own partition. Ubuntu is not a Windows software and is not meant to be run "inside" Windows. It deserves equal treatment.

WUBI was more of a marketing gimmick IMO in the old days when Ubuntu was unknown (and perhaps lacking in confidence) than a way to seriously explore Ubuntu and what it is capable of, it might have some useful purpose to expose Ubuntu to more people but IMO that time has long passed.

Devin_Carpenter
April 11th, 2014, 02:16 AM