PDA

View Full Version : grub no such device

chrisacurry
April 10th, 2014, 05:35 PM
Have a Ubuntu / Win7 dual boot that's been working for quite some time.

After a random period of time, the system will shut down. This appears to (also randomly, since most of the time it reboots) screw up the boot information. Previously, I've reinstalled both os's (twice now), but this time I'd like to see if I can repair the actual installations so I don't have to do the full process again.

Error I'm receiving upon boot-up:

error: no such device: a944d046-e35d-4438-8caf-90834a2c6b25
grub rescue> _

I've lurked several other people's problems with the same error request-for-help thread and tried several things. None of them has worked. The last thing I tried was using Boot-Repair. Here's the pastebin link with my drive information:

http://paste.ubuntu.com/7231463/

When responding, please keep in mind that I'm a software engineer, but a total noob when it comes to linux boot information. I can run commands and provide reasonable output, but I've got exactly NO experience fixing MBRs.

Thanks for your time!

Luke M
April 10th, 2014, 06:02 PM
You have grub installed on two drives, so maybe your BIOS boot order got changed somehow and you're booting from a different drive now.

oldfred
April 10th, 2014, 06:10 PM
Abnormal shutdown can cause file corruption whether Windows or Linux.
If Windows then you may need to run chkdsk and on ext formatted partitions run fsck.

#From liveDVD/Flash so everything is unmounted,swap off if necessary, change example shown with partition sdb1 to your partition(s)
#e2fsck is used to check the ext2/ext3/ext4 family of file systems. -p trys fixes where response not required
sudo e2fsck -C0 -p -f -v /dev/sdb1
#if errors: -y auto answers yes for fixes needing response, also see man e2fsck
sudo e2fsck -f -y -v /dev/sdb1