PDA

View Full Version : Install. error: sis630 compatible bus not detected... - incompatible hardware?

ZiGr
April 8th, 2014, 08:51 PM
I am new to Ubuntu, and tried to install it (version 12.04.4 LTS) from WinXP yesterday from the wubi.exe file. (I can not burn DVDs on my PC, neither boot from an USB stick). There was this error message: "sis630 compatible bus not detected, module not inserted", next the screen went black. I don't know what this means. Does it mean that I can't run Linux on my current hardware? Or is this something that can be fixed?

Thanks;

john340
December 28th, 2014, 08:18 PM
I just had the same experience trying to boot lubuntu 14.04 from a USB. Started again with a fresh iso on USB and got the sam error.
As the boot progressed, a screen came up acknowledging Lubuntu 14.04 with 4 dots below that turned on and off in succession. then a blank screen with the the cursor arrowthat moved with the mouse, Finally, a new blank screen began coming up very briefly then disappearing, until I shut the computer down.
Does this mean that my video card and driver are not compatible with lubuntu linux. My motherboard is rather old, Asus, P4S800D-x, 2GB mem, pent 4, 2.8 mhz. The computer currently has XP pro installed, 32bit, and i am trying to load lubuntu to try out the OS. The BIOS does support booting from a USB, which it seems to do without problem.
Need some help!!!
Johnc

MAFoElffen
December 29th, 2014, 12:36 AM
Do you have a SIS 630 video card? If so...

Wubi support ended at the release of 14.04. SIS integrate support last worked okay at about Ubuntu 12.04. That video card was release for Windows 2000 and the technology is about 16 years old.

It is a struggle and have to use many work-arounds to get it working after 12.04... or for any Main Linux Distro after Linux kernel version shortly before 3.x.x. That is in a native installed full-blown mode, outside of WUBI.