PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Unable to Install Xubuntu 13.10, SiS 650 Graphic Card

d4rios
April 7th, 2014, 11:25 AM
Hello, I start saying I'm a newbie in the Ubuntu/Linux world.

I'd like to get rid of Windows XP and install Xubuntu to be able to use my 2004 desktop again (Intel Celeron 2.6GHz, 991MB RAM, SiS 650 Graphic Card).
I downloaded, burned the Xubuntu 13.10 iso on a DVD (I cannot boot from USB) and verified its integrity. Every time I boot it, it loads the screen where i can set some options (language etc.), but whenever i launch the live or the installation process, after some loading showing the Xubuntu logo, the screen goes black, then i can see and move a mouse cursor, then black screen, then cursor again and so on, the process gets stuck on this loop.
I searched the forum, tried the nomodeset option, acpi, i can access the terminal typing ctrl-alt-F4, but the problem is still there.
I guess this is due to my video card and my monitor trying to set the resolution (I have an LG LCD HDTV connected on VGA).

Any help on solving this problem would be really appreciated! :)

mörgæs
April 7th, 2014, 11:37 AM
Hi, welcome to the fora.
You have SIS graphics, which gives some problems for 13.10. 14.04 (beta) installs without modifications.

The commads

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:dtl131/mediahacks
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
should do the trick for 13.10.

More info in the link in my signature.

d4rios
April 7th, 2014, 12:24 PM
Ok, thanks! I'll try the 14.04. Is Xubuntu a good choice for my hardware?

mörgæs
April 7th, 2014, 12:48 PM
Since you have a semi-working 13.10 I recommend that you just try the three commands in a terminal. Easier than a fresh install.

Xubuntu is a little heavier than Lubuntu. Try both of them and see which you like more.

d4rios
April 7th, 2014, 02:23 PM
I tried the commands while installing Xubuntu 13.10, it downloaded and upgraded about 250MB of packages, but afterwards the problem was still there.