PDA

View Full Version : Is my /boot on correct RAID 12.04 ? Did I make a mistake

rcollman
April 5th, 2014, 05:05 PM
I setup a RAID5 (md1) and a RAID1 (md2) using the Ubuntu install image. During setup I said to put /boot on the smaller RAID1. I put "/ "on the RAID5. My boss told to put the \boot and other low activity folders on the RAID1 and put /usr and /var on the RAID5. Did I do this or do I have duplicate boot directories on each RAID? Don't do this all the time and do not understand what if any file I need to edit. This is an older server with 10 150g HDs :)

A couple of years ago I figured out how to load 3 instances of Ubuntu on 3 different servers. The third one was easy. Thus I am not a complete newbie but..... Not afraid to read and learn. We are early in the setup process so, reinstalling could be an option. Thx in advance.

Double.J
April 6th, 2014, 12:29 AM
Hi there!

Short answer: yes!
If you have told the installer to mount a volume on the raid 1 array at /boot and a volume on the raid 5 array at / then all directories for ubuntu will be on the raid 5 array volume EXCEPT for the /boot directory which will be on the raid 1 array. The installer will automatically configure the bootloader so it knows where to load the system, and the /etc/fstab file so that the /boot volume is automatically mounted at /boot when the system starts.

one thing - your boss said to put /var and /usr on the other raid array? Have you checked if he wanted seperate partitions for these directories as well? It is common to create extra partitions for these directories as well as /home and /tmp as they will grow the most over time (depending on usage and maintenance). The thinking is that if the partitions these directories sit on become full, the root system will not suffer Impeded performance.

Not sure which other 'low activity' directories they wanted on the raid 1 array, this (https://help.ubuntu.com/lts/installation-guide/i386/directory-tree.html) may help?

Jj

rcollman