PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu Dual Boot with Win XP Pro SP3 on Intel Raid 1 mobo array

david179
March 31st, 2014, 10:59 PM
Good Morning,

I am attempting to set up a dual boot system on a raid 1 array with Win XP. I am completely new to Ubuntu, however I did a lot of reading and figured I'd try to complete the subject title configuration on a refurb project.
The current setup is:
Dell Dimension e520 running bios 2.4xx
Pent 4 2.xx Ghz HT 775
3074 MB system memory
2x 160 GB WD SDA's.
Intel ICH7R chipset
onboard floppy, dvd, and usb.

I installed windows XP onto the raid 1 array after a bios flash from Dos using intel raid drivers in tandem via floppy with the xp pro installation cd. I partitioned the array using 100GB for the Windows partition leaving 50.x GB for Ubuntu 12.04 LTS. XP pro is updated and works properly.

At first I tried using the Desktop ISO vis USB. After trying Ubuntu live I was unable to see the raid array form the desktop. Using Googled / forum reading I found that I needed to download and use the Alternate ISO to DVD. *I did*
I booted from the ISO and started the Installer. The LIVE "Try Ubuntu" was not an option using the alternate ISO, which I was hoping it would be.
The installer loaded dmraid scripts among others on the package prep status line on the bottom of the screen, and the installer allowed me to proceed to the partitioning portion of the installer.
The intel Mobo raid was visible showing the Windows 100gb partition, and the 50.xx GB's of free space.
I went about setting up my partitions in the free space as follows:
16Gb as a primary partition of the root "/" *I did not rename it I left it as a "/".
33.xx GB as a logical partition for /home in EXT 4
3074MB as a logical partition for /swap in /swap "took me a minute to realize that I had to change EXT 4 in the drop down and select swap" -->I'm a newbie go ahead and chuckle.

I then proceeded to write the partitions to the raid 1 array.