PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Installation in ASUS M2V-2X Motherboard with Via Chrome HC IGP onboard graphics card

SERGIO_MARTINEZ_LO
March 30th, 2014, 08:53 PM
Hi:

First at all, i'm new in this forum, and I am not an expert in linux. I've intalled ubuntu in other computers and it went well, but with the computer I have now I have a critical problem in the installation.

I Have a ASUS M2V-2X Motherboard, that has an integrated graphics card (Via Chrome HC IGP)
I'm trying to install Ubuntu 12.04 with the live CD. When the installation enters in the graphic mode the screen shows a lot of colour lines and I can do nothing. Is like the graphic card is not supported by Ubuntu.

I had the same problem when I tried to use a live CD of the aplication "clonezilla", that is based on linux too.

I don't know what can I do to solve this problem.

The computer is 6 or 7 years old.

If you need more info about the problem just ask me. It's very strange.

Thank you in advance

mörgæs
March 30th, 2014, 10:44 PM
Hi, welcome to the fora.
Are you able to boot a live Lubuntu 14.04, the development release?

SERGIO_MARTINEZ_LO
March 31st, 2014, 10:08 AM
Hi, welcome to the fora.
Are you able to boot a live Lubuntu 14.04, the development release?

Hi:

I tried to boot the Lubuntu 14.04 beta1 and, at the first, it seems to work, but 5 or 6 seconds after the graphic mode appears it do the same
http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/320x240q90/59/lid9.jpg

And a seconds after...

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/320x240q90/203/o3lf.jpg

And that is what happens with ubuntu, lubuntu, and all the distributions I've tried. It seems impossible to install Linux in this computer.

mörgæs
March 31st, 2014, 01:31 PM
Are you able to open a terminal with Ctrl + Alt + F1?

SERGIO_MARTINEZ_LO
March 31st, 2014, 10:26 PM
Are you able to open a terminal with Ctrl + Alt + F1?

Nothing happens, impossible to open a console

SERGIO_MARTINEZ_LO
April 1st, 2014, 10:10 AM