PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] my partitions are a mess how can i tidy and allocate?

isla
March 22nd, 2014, 03:55 AM
Hi, first of all i'm sorry if I do not ask in the right way - i'm a total newbie.

I can however see my partitions are totally messy. i've got 2x unallocated spaces, i've got gda 5 and 3 but can't see 2 or 4, (trying to go by memory here) and I think ubuntu is on the gda5 but, i really can't be sure...but i want to allocate the majority of space to ubuntu now that i've got it up and running well.

i've looked at the official ubuntu documents showing how to do this, and many websites but i can't relate to it - mine looks so different. I don't get little pictures of keys and I don't know which ones are out of use. I can't risk losing my ubuntu settings and everything it's taken so long to get wine and pipelight and netflix and lots of little things to work considering i don't know what i'm doing!

please can anyone go through the terminal commands and results and help me work out which partition to extend - and how to get rid of or allocate the rest?

i do have a little gda1 or something for the windows reset thing so i know to leave that alone.

thankyou and very very sorry for messy questions and lack of knowledge

isla :D

isla
March 22nd, 2014, 03:57 AM
this may be another topic but i have also been advised to flash the BIOS or something because i cannot get my fan to work correctly - however i have posted about this problem also but no help as yet. just mentioning it incase this is something i should do at the same time... sorry.

Hodevah
March 22nd, 2014, 04:51 AM