PDA

View Full Version : Need help installing from scratch

moe3
March 18th, 2014, 01:35 AM
Hello,
I've been looking through the forum and searched Google, but I can't seem to find an answer for what I'm doing. And, quite frankly, I'm surprised. I've got an extra computer, I've wiped that hard drive, and now I want to install Ubuntu. There is tons of info about installing from Windows, dual boots, and other scenarios, but I can't seem to find any for a straight install that starts with erasing your hardrive.

I've already tried to install Zorin 8, but couldn't get it to work. It seemed to work, but then after the install I got a boot disk error. Since then, I've realized that I think Ubuntu is actually what I want, so I'm looking to find a step-by-step (based on what I"m working with) that will get me up and running. So, hopefully someone has a couple of minutes to set me straight. I"m pretty good with computers, but my experience is all with DOS and Windows: this is my first try with anything Linux.

Here's my situation:
The computer:
CPU: AMD 5000 2.6ghz Dual Core
RAM: 2 gb DDR2
HDD: 380 gb Barracuda something or other
and, a 1gb video card

The Software:
I've got a copy of the Ultimate Boot Disc
Latest Ubuntu iso.

So, I'd really appreciate some help with using Parted Magic (or whatever from the Ultimate Boot Disc) to erase, partition, setup the hard drive so that I can install Ubuntu and then be up and running and happy with my new OS.

Thanks in advance!

Bashing-om
March 18th, 2014, 02:24 AM
moe3; Hi ! Welcome to the forum.

There is good reason why ubuntu is touted as most user friendly.

this is my first try with anything Linux.

May I suggest that you do your first ubuntu install in that most easy and straight forward no hassle, done and over with manner ???
The no hassle way ( 15 minutes with a broadband internet connection )

1. Did you verify the .iso file as unchanged from that of the source ?
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM