PDA

View Full Version : Developer seeks feedback...

ph3n1ks
July 22nd, 2006, 08:39 PM
First off, let me say hello to everyone. I am a software/web developer in addition to many other things I do. Mostly I do the other things to make a living. But occasionally, I do get to engage in my chosen profession in the small business sector. Anyway, on with the thrust of things.

I have been considering starting an open source project. I am soliciting general interest and specific developer interest in this project that is in the concept phase right now. Read below to find out more.
For several years now, I have noticed inadequacies in SME (Small to Medium Enterprise) targeted Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) softwares. Now lately on sourceforge.net, I have seen an abundance of them. However, they are all web based. While I am sure that these solutions address the issues that I have with small accounting packages like QuickBooks and larger accouting packages like the MAS series, many small business owners couldn't tell you the difference between the "web" and their local network, if they even have one. I have literally run into business owners who have told me that they would stick with QuickBooks even if the product is hard to work with, next to impossible to get data out of, and incredibly expensive with its endless upgrade treadmill and market of third party tools that become necessary to get anything usefull out of the application. Many of them do however see the advantage to role-based, multi-user access and all of the data being together and accessible in one place/application.

So here is the concept: