PDA

View Full Version : Yoga - Program Idea

Toliot
March 12th, 2014, 03:22 PM
Hello great community of ubuntu!

I was just about to do some exercise(yoga in fact) when an idea came to my mind, a program that tells you to do yoga and lets you decide what yoga poses you want to do!
OK I know this has probably been done before(just remembering now I think it exists on the iOS app-market) but I quickly checked on Ubuntu Software Center and there doesn't seem to be anything of the like, so I'm thinking I would like to do this project, hopefully with others if there are other like-minded people here. I need to declare that I'm not very good at programming yet and thus this project will probably take quite awhile to actually finish but any supporting ideas/guides/frameworks that you guys can come up with I would gladly appreciate.

Working out is an important aspect of healthy living in my opinion, and me being a relatively lazy person, I like to do yoga, I recommend that everyone tries it, at any degree of strength because there are many poses of varying difficulty that even the most advanced will have difficulty doing and yet the progression is very light and you can easily build up the balance/core strength to do most of the poses within... I can't speak as a professional but i'd say about a month if your completely out of shape. To be honest I used to lift weights but now I'm too lazy so I'll just do yoga.

Basically what I'd like to gear this thread at it is how should I go about creating this program(because I frankly have no clue :( ), and hopefully in C, because I'm learning C.

Any help would be great! I look forward to your ideas guys :D

and if you guys know any similar programs already please don't hesitate to add a post of it please! :D

Dave_L
March 12th, 2014, 04:35 PM
I found this by searching for "yoga software": http://www.healthandyoga.com/html/yoga/yguide.aspx
Unfortunately, it's non-free and WIndows-only.

Toliot
March 13th, 2014, 02:18 AM