PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Pentium 2/3: Display keeps shutting on and off during boot.

hunter86_bg
March 10th, 2014, 04:36 PM
I was trying to prove to my colleagues how Linux can bring up to life our old Windows 98 PC at work. So , having in mind the restrictions I had to comply - Low ram: 384 MB, 6GB of space on HDD and old Pentium 2 (maybe 3) Processor I chose "Lubuntu 13.10 (Saucy Salamander)" alternate version. Installation went fine and it came the moment of truth.
First,I'm new to GRUB2 ( i'm used with the older grub) but it sounds strange it doesn't show the grub menu - it just boots /no matter which arrow on the keyboard I press/.
Second ,Lubuntu start booting and at a certain time it starts to kill our old CRT Display and start it again. I guess it was trying to setup the X server.

So,my questions are:
1.How to enter GRUB2's menu so I can edit the runlevel I jump into / I assume adding the runlevel number after the kernel entry would do the job/
2.How to enter into VESA mode?!? I assume I have to rescue the system in order to do that / I'm not used to the debian systems/
3. Is there a text-base web browser - like the "elinks" package in CentOS?

Thanks in advance for your posts. I would be happy to get any help before I go to work tomorrow.

mörgæs
March 10th, 2014, 08:58 PM
Though Linux can make old hardware blossom again there's a lower limit, and I'm afraid you have promised a bit too much. Anyway, if you want to experiment here are some answers.

1) If there's only one option in GRUB the menu does not show by default. Repeatedly pressing Shift during boot calls forward the menu.
2) adding Vesa codes: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=361236&page=83&p=12292664&viewfull=1#post12292664
3) Lynx

grahammechanical
March 10th, 2014, 10:21 PM