PDA

View Full Version : Installing from USB

billy11
March 5th, 2014, 11:00 PM
Hello, Im a noob for computer modifications, ive modded my android phone for a couple years and ive been wanting to try modding my laptop now. There isnt much memory on the internal HDD so i was hoping to install 12.04 ubuntu all through my seagate 3tb HDD.

I tried using "Universal USB installer 1.9.5.2 " to install the iso but as soon as it starts it says it wont be bootable due to an error...

unetbootin does not read my FAT32 partions inside my hdd, or any partitions for that matter. MiniTool parttion wizard and windows file manager both read my partitions, Can someone help me? i know this is an old thread :/

sudodus
March 6th, 2014, 04:41 PM
Hello, Im a noob for computer modifications, ive modded my android phone for a couple years and ive been wanting to try modding my laptop now. There isnt much memory on the internal HDD so i was hoping to install 12.04 ubuntu all through my seagate 3tb HDD.

I tried using "Universal USB installer 1.9.5.2 " to install the iso but as soon as it starts it says it wont be bootable due to an error...

unetbootin does not read my FAT32 partions inside my hdd, or any partitions for that matter. MiniTool parttion wizard and windows file manager both read my partitions, Can someone help me? i know this is an old thread :/

You are welcome to the Ubuntu Forums Billy :-)

I will ask an administrator to create an own thread for you, and to give it a good descriptive title, that should attract people who are interested and have knowledge about your problem. But I suggest that you start by describing your computer:

- brand name and model
- CPU
- RAM (size)
- graphics card/chip
- wifi card/chip

and also what pendrive you have tried (or did you try directly with the USB hard disk?)

howefield
March 6th, 2014, 04:48 PM
Hello billy11,