PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] No system sounds

Marvel0169
March 5th, 2014, 03:02 PM
Hello everyone, I am a newbie of Linux world and I approached it via Ubuntu 13.10. I am happy to be with you. I hope you have patience with a newbie like me.:)

Eventually, after obvious hardware problems, I have an old pc, with celeron 2GHz, 1Gb ram, hdd 150 Gb, I gave up and switched from ubuntu 13.10 to xubuntu 12.04LTS and everything has improved.

First of all the performance videos are now normal and smooth, then the audio now works for "almost" everything. I can hear the music CDs, movies, youtube, audio files but I still can not hear xubuntu system sounds, like the sounds of windows so to speak.
I tried to follow these guidelines (in italian language),
http://www.xfce-italia.it/index.php?topic=1726.0, and, finally, I managed to create two files in the folder Xsession.d, but I had to give the command
sudo leafpad / etc/X11/Xsession.d/52libcanberra-gtk-module_add-to-gtk-modules, otherwise the file was created in the X11 folder and not in Xsession.d folder, however I was wrong because now I have the two files in X11 folder and in Xsession.d folder ...
I checked again these steps (translating by Italian, I hope readable in English):
1) "then go into dconf editor / org / gnome / desktop / enable sound event sounds and sound feedback and theme ubuntu".

2) "in settings-editor settings xsetting / net / soundthemename ubuntu".

3) retried the command "play / usr / share / sounds / ubuntu / stereo / desktop-login.ogg" and confirm that the sound you hear.

4) controlled canberra that were installed with the command sudo apt-get install canberra and the result was that everything was already in place and there was nothing to install.

However, the system sounds still do not feel ...
Any idea, please?

Many thanks! Ciao!

Marco

Toz
March 5th, 2014, 04:29 PM
Hello and welcome to the forums.