PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Lxterminal question

marc11
March 3rd, 2014, 04:58 AM
First off I am new to Linux, so please forgive me if this should be obvious. I've searched all over here and the web in general and I have not found any definitive answers. I am writing some scripts for launching a program called HDSentinel. I am having to create different scripts for different DE's/emulators as there is no set standard. My problem is that I can find no way to hold lxterminal open after the command has executed. Gnome-terminal lets me create a profile that holds the emulator window open. Xterm lets me use -hold to keep the terminal window open. But lxterminal does not seem to have any mechanism for doing this. Is there something I am missing? Or is there some work around for this, other than just using xterm?

vasa1
March 3rd, 2014, 07:15 AM
Does your lxterminal close after running this script?

#!/bin/bash
#
# This file echoes a bunch of color codes to the
# terminal to demonstrate what's available. Each
# line is the color code of one forground color,
# out of 17 (default + 16 escapes), followed by a
# test use of that color on all nine background
# colors (default + 8 escapes).
#

T='gYw' # The test text

echo -e "\n 40m 41m 42m 43m\
44m 45m 46m 47m";

for FGs in ' m' ' 1m' ' 30m' '1;30m' ' 31m' '1;31m' ' 32m' \
'1;32m' ' 33m' '1;33m' ' 34m' '1;34m' ' 35m' '1;35m' \
' 36m' '1;36m' ' 37m' '1;37m';
do FG=${FGs// /}
echo -en " $FGs \033[$FG $T "
for BG in 40m 41m 42m 43m 44m 45m 46m 47m;
do echo -en "$EINS \033[$FG\033[$BG $T \033[0m";
done
echo;
done
echo

Mine remains open.

marc11
March 4th, 2014, 04:01 AM
Maybe I'm missing something, lord knows this is a learning experience for me, but from what I can see, your script doesn't call its own terminal window. What I want is to call a terminal window from within the script, execute a command in that terminal window, and have the window stay open after that command exits. And that's where the problem comes up.