PDA

View Full Version : Lubuntu on Pentium III processor and 384MB of RAM

ZTP
March 2nd, 2014, 06:18 PM
Hello everyone. I'm not a computer expert, but I recently bought an old computer for less than 10€ and I wanted to install Lubuntu on it but I accomplished nothing but failures so far.

The computer has a Pentium III processor and 384MB of RAM, with a 10GB hard disk. It has (had!) Windows XP Home on it.

I have some live CDs with different distros, so I tried to enter the BIOS menu to make it boot from CD - turns out there's no such thing as a BIOS menu, only a CMOS menu. From there I set the CD-ROM as primary master instead of the hard disk, but all the different CDs I tried to boot from gave me the same error: ATAPI incompatible. I managed to burn two CDs using Nero from the Windows XP installed on the same machine, so I guess the optical drive is working, right?

The machine has two USB ports, but only one is working. I highly doubt it's able to boot from USB flash drive, but I still tried to stick it in and disable both the primary and secondary master/slaves to force it to try to boot from something else, to no end.

I did the same with a floppy disk and I successfully booted eBoot (a minimal Linux distro) from a single floppy disk, so at least that works, but it's so small it's useless to me casual user... I need a "true" OS

I cleaned the CMOS and removed and inserted the battery back, hoping to unlock the BIOS or something, I tried it all.

I downloaded Smart Boot Manager and successfully executed it but I didn't find an option to boot from CD.

I downloaded Wubi and launched it, but it kept giving me weird errors mid-installation and aborted.

I downloaded a Lubuntu ISO, extracted the kernel and initrd and put them in C: and reconfigured the boot.ini to give me the option to load grldr during boot, downloaded grub4dos, managed to get into grub menu and manually loaded kernel and initrd. Seemed to work fine, but I got stuck at a busybox/initramfs prompt.