PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu boots into dark blue screen

Jasper_Haller
February 27th, 2014, 11:39 PM
Hello everyone,

I am new to Ubuntu and just installed 13.10 a few days ago. Since this morning, I can no longer boot. Here's what happens:

1. I am prompted to enter the passphrase to my encrypted hard drive. I enter it and see a message confirming that I have successfully entered the passphrase. So far, so normal.
2. For a split-second, I see a message that my discs are scanned for errors.
3. I get a dark blue screen.

And this is where it ends. The screen is not black, just a very dark shade of blue, and I can adjust the brightness using my keyboard. I can also use the keyboard to put the computer to sleep. But this is all. I cannot log on (blindly typing my password has no effect) and cannot reach manual login by pressing ctrl+alt+f2.

So far, I have twice tried booting from a disc and running boot-repair. Each time, the program happily informs me that it has repaired whatever problem there was, but the dark blue screen still appears. It has also spit out a log file, but I have not been able to make sense of it. Here's a link to another such log file I just created: http://paste.ubuntu.com/7007516/

If anyone has any further ideas, I'd much appreciate it.

Dreamer Fithp Apprentice
March 1st, 2014, 03:19 AM
I can't help you much but you've been 24 hours without reply so I'll throw in a few thoughts.

That part of the log that goes:
" . . . and looks in partition 94 for ."

sounds like trouble to me. But I'm no booting expert. Sounds like there was supposed to be an expansion of a variable before the period and the variable didn't get set. But how to track it down precisely, and what to do about - I haven't the foggiest.

And anyway, "partition 94"? 94 ?!?!? That's a heck of a lot of partitions. You don't really have that many do you? Probably that's just something I don't understand. I'll be interested to hear more knowledgable comments on those things.