PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Low disk space warning, after install ubuntu 12.04

jantinusw
February 26th, 2014, 08:12 AM
Hi im very new to ubunt, i wanted to give it a try, after reading good stories on the internet
I installed ubuntu on a different partition than my windows 7,
everything went fine, but after an hour of installing some programs i get the warning low disk space, even tough the partitions is 486.7 GB.
when i check the Disk Usage Analyzer i can see that the / is completely full
unfortunately im very new to ubuntu and i cant seem to find a solution on the internet
can any of you help me?

mörgæs
February 26th, 2014, 09:36 AM
Hi, welcome to the fora.

If you reboot and run the commands

sudo apt-get clean
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get autoremove

do you get some free space?

jantinusw
February 26th, 2014, 09:42 AM
Hi morgaes,

i ran the commands in the terminal,
i got only 200 mb more free space, which is less than i hoped for,

i should have about 450 gb free space, i dont get why it tells me i have low diskspace,
maybe it matters maybe it doesnt,
i have installed wine, and tried to install a game,
and i have one account wich i use

jantinusw

mastablasta
February 26th, 2014, 01:52 PM
you have 35,6GB total space reserved for Ubuntu / and it's fool (it's like having C:\ drive full in windows).

did you maybe use Wubi when you instaled Ubuntu? can you run boot repair tool and then create boot info script (you don't need to repair your boot so leave that alone) and post the results here.

jantinusw
February 26th, 2014, 09:16 PM
i used the windows installer to install ubuntu (that wubi right??)

i got a link to the result of the boot repair, info,

http://paste.ubuntu.com/7001638/

i hope it is of some use :)

thanks in advance :)

mastablasta
February 27th, 2014, 08:33 AM