PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] PCManFM: File selection with mouse cursor

MM360
February 24th, 2014, 03:37 PM
Hello everybody, I'm new to Linux so my question may be quite stupid but I can't find an answer anywhere. Also, I'm Italian, so my English sucks, please be patient (I can't ask for help on the Italian ubuntu forum, they're not very helpful). I've been using Lubuntu 13.10 for a few days now, everything is finally working, but I have a problem with multiple files selection. If I use the detailed list view, anytime I try to select more than one file using the mouse cursor, let's say to delete them, the first file does not get selected. The selection always starts with the second file. Is this normal on Lxde? Or even on Linux in general? Have i messed up something?
Thank you for your help.

sudodus
February 24th, 2014, 03:56 PM
Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums :-)

You can select multiple files in many selecting windows and in the file browsers, but not in all selecting windows.

One way to select is the press the control key while you mouse-left-click on the next file. Another way is to press the shift key while you click the arrow down key.

In icon view (not detailed list) you can mark a rectangle (with the mouse) and select the file icons inside that rectangle.

There are probably more methods ... use the one that is best for you!

MM360
February 24th, 2014, 04:14 PM
Thank you for your help, but i'd like to use the mouse for selecting files. Also I can't get used to the icon view, I've been trying for the past 25 years, I just can't. I should have mentioned that I'm talking about browsing files with PCManFM file manager. Maybe it's just a bug of this particular file manager.

Rex Bouwense
February 24th, 2014, 04:32 PM