PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu Server, multiple users and remote login

antony3
February 21st, 2014, 04:25 PM
Hello,

I'm setting a new Ubuntu Server (12.04) to which up to 5 (possibly more) people will have access at the same time. Some of the users will need a GUI while they are logged in.
Last time I had to face the same issue, I resolved this by installing the ubuntu-desktop package and vnc4server.
The problems in the current situation are the following:
• Logging in via ssh to enable each users VNC is tedious at best
• VNC security is close to non existing
• Having 5 instances of VNC running at all times is power consuming

What options would you suggest?

For the reference I have very little experience on having multiple users working on one Server with different rights (btw any recommendation on what I could look into to get more of a hang on it is also appreciated), so excuse me if my worries and question is a bit/totally off...

TheFu
February 21st, 2014, 09:06 PM
FreeNX as the server. ssh is built-into the protocol.
Any NX-client on the client side.

The server setup has manual steps and the newly created ssh keys need to be placed on each client, plus either personal ssh-keys or a password for each user is needed. https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FreeNX follow the instructions carefully.

Plus, NX is much more efficient than VNC or RDP protocols.
I prefer the NoMachine v3.5 client over their newer release. Remmia or qtnx work too.

Or setup openVPN on every client and forget about the ssh part with VNC.

SeijiSensei
February 22nd, 2014, 12:47 AM
If the users do not need a whole desktop, but just need to execute a couple of programs on the Ubuntu box, you might consider the simple solution of tunnelling X over SSH. If you run "ssh -X servername" you can run graphical programs on the remote but display them on the client. If they only need to use a specific program or two, this is a pretty easy solution to implement.