PDA

View Full Version : 13.10 no option for "install alongside windows"7. Doesn't detect partitions either

surashid
February 20th, 2014, 06:13 AM
Hi,

I am new to the Ubuntu world and I would really appreciate your help in this. I noticed quite a few posts with *similar* issues (but not quite the same) and I wasn't able to find a solution in over a day now.

What I'm trying to do:
- To install either Ubuntu 12.04.3 or Ubuntu 13.10 (tried with both, several times) alongside Windows 7, so that I can have the dual boot option menu at start
- Laptop model & specs: Lenovo N580, i3, 4.0 GB RAM, 500GB hard drive (just one partition initially, C drive but I shrinked to free up ~110 GB so far to see if Ubuntu detects it or not - it didn't)
- I don't mind having more partitions but I am not really sure how many partitions to make (guessing I should be making the partitions from Ubuntu instead of Windows).

Actions/Attempts and results so far:

1) I tried to boot the USB installer in both the UEFI mode (where you see the black grub menu option) and the non-EFI mode. Both results in the same, in the installer steps of Ubuntu. It says "No detectable operating systems" and I get no "Install alongside Windows" option (picture below). I have also tried with "Try Ubuntu" without installing, in both modes, to check out the partitions with the "GPartition Editor", only to find that the it doesn't 100 GB unallocated space and a partition - it just sees a block of 500GB unallocated space (picture below). If I choose "Something else", from the installer steps, the results are the same.

Note that in this "Try Ubuntu" mode, I can actually see the C drive mounted (which has Windows 7), with the right space (~300+GB) but the installer cannot detect it (visible in the picture). I am also pasting some command line results below, in case it helps.