PDA

View Full Version : A video about Linux getting hacked ....Is this real ?

linuxyogi
February 13th, 2014, 06:31 PM
Hi,

Just found this video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ja7hhHsZVNA).

He says its a fresh installation inside a VM.

I guess he is using Xubuntu (I think its the Xubuntu logo on the start menu).

Although he doesnt demonstrate anything what he did from the remote computer but he "shows" that he manages to create and delete a file inside the Home folder.

AFAIK all ports are closed by default. What ufw does is it makes them stealth.

So I wan wondering how he managed to do what he did.

Do you think this is possible ? Or is this fake ?

mattlach
February 13th, 2014, 06:45 PM
I'm not an expert in hacking and security, but the truth is this.

There is no system in the world that is unhackable, if you have sufficient time, talent, dedication and a budget on your side.

Most consumer level security revolves around just making yourself difficult enough to hack, that those who would compromise your system instead go pick on an easier target.

Governments with national security type information, and corporations with trade secrets, etc, don't necessarily have this benefit, as their information might be valuable enough to fund a team of very talented people to go ahead and break in.

Just look at Stuxnet, and what it did to the Iranian nuclear program, a network that wasn't even connected to the outside net.