PDA

View Full Version : Desktop OS on ARM

alex143
February 5th, 2014, 06:16 PM
Hi thanks for reading, This is going to be a bit long, but I encourage anyone to throw in any input to better my journey.

To start off I'm not a coder, just an enthusiast. My goal is trying to find/work/compile a full fledged desktop OS for a mobile phone (ARM based). I've been watching over the Ubuntu phone for a while now and I like where it's going however it's not actually what I'm looking for. I'm looking for a UMPC with full copy of Ubuntu on it.

Some might ask why, I say why not? Its obviously not going to be for everyone, but the possibilities of having a desktop OS on a mobile device explain itself. We're not looking to run Half-Life on them, but actually having the ability for total multitask is a selling point in itself.

I know for a fact what I'm researching is very possible, And I guess what brings me here is to ask you this question: What am I missing? What is the next step? and is there any sort of project going on right now that I don't know about?

I've been on #ubuntu IRC and I did manage to get some insightful answers. Can anyone expand on this?

=== IRC: freenode #ubuntu http://www.ubuntu.com

medo: Hi there, I have a few questions. Why exactly is it not possible to have Ubuntu Desktop on an ARM based phone?
jinzo: medo, I'm no Ubuntu expert but there're several reasons probably: From that not all packages compile on ARM, that the unity probably utilizes OpenGL that is not supported by the graphic drivers in ARM SoC-es (OpenGLES is used there), and so forth
witheld1: medo, jinzo is wrong
ActionParsnip: jinzo, I wouldn’t use Unity on ARM personally
jinzo: ActionParsnip, I was listing technical reasons that came to mind
ActionParsnip: jinzo: makes sense. I'd run openbox or fluxbox to keep the desktop light