PDA

View Full Version : ubuntu 12.04LTS - trying to auto mount mdadm RAID0 2 disk array

john153
February 1st, 2014, 12:31 AM
I"ve recently built an Ubuntu 12.04LTS box and it has been running great so far. I am a relative novice regarding unix. But I do have basic unix terminal use experience. I"ve attached a txt file with my system config which I got by entering gksu lshw-gtk.

I've built a two drive RAID 0 using the alternate install software I downloaded from the Ubuntu site. I created a RAID0 array and am able to mount the 2 drive array using mdadm by opening drive utility and choosing the array and mounting.
I want to have it mount automatically at startup but can't seem to make it work.

I tried editing my etc/fstab file and adding it but the machie errors on startup.

I tried both uuid and mount point. Here is what I tried last in etc/fstab

/media/minecraftserver /dev/md0 ext4 default 0 0
This is the info I get from the drive utility once the drive is mounted

I opened the fstab file by entering in terminal:
gksu gedit /etc/fstab

Anyone see what I'm doing wrong? Or am I going about this in the wrong way?

Thanks!

john

TheFu
February 1st, 2014, 03:53 AM
I think you are close .... just a few things backwards. Try

mkdir /mnt/minecraftserver
/dev/md0 /mnt/minecraftserver ext4 default 0 0

You do understand how very dangerous RAID0 is, correct? It is suitable only for video editors who need performance and never store anything on the array more than 24 hours. If either drive dies, all the data is gone - lost - unrecoverable. I suppose excellent backups can mitigate some of this, but every time I've come across RAID0 in the wild, they weren't doing good enough backups.

Is md0 really the RAID device? Please post as in "copy/paste" the contents of /proc/mdstat here. Use the "Adv Reply" and "code" tags please so everything lines up.