PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Nautilus icon on launcher

frepie
January 30th, 2014, 09:03 PM
Hi,
I am new to Ubuntu and I run the 12.04 lts version.
A few days ago, the nautilus icon on the laucher started to display a small "2" on top of it when a nautilus window was opened. I don't know why it started nor what it means.

See atteched screen grab below

Thank you

Frogs Hair
January 30th, 2014, 09:32 PM
Hello and Welcome

One possibility is that if you right click a folder to open it and select open in a new window you will have two Nautilus windows open and depending on icon set you will see a 2 or two arrow indicators. If you have set this as a preference in the file manager under Edit >Preferences >Behavior it can be disabled from there.

frepie
January 31st, 2014, 04:20 AM
Thank you for your reply.
Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to be that. The number "2" appears even when only 1 nautilus window is open. When a second window is open, 2 small triangles appear on the left side of the icon.

Frogs Hair
January 31st, 2014, 04:38 PM
You can try the following command, but you will have to add all your favorite applications again.

unity --reset-icons

Try the following key binding also . The Windows Key is the super key on many keyboards. Ctrl + Super Key + D

frepie
January 31st, 2014, 09:07 PM
I don't really understand what is the goal for your suggestions. I was merely asking for the meaning of this "2" added on top of the nautilus launcher icon. From what I tested, it is not to display the number of nautilus windows that are opened. Could it be that it indicates in what workspace the window is opened?

mc4man
January 31st, 2014, 09:14 PM
Could it be that it indicates in what workspace the window is opened?
While I no longer use 12.04 can't recollect ever seeing. If you change workspaces does it change # ?

If you log in to a guest session is it there too?

Frogs Hair
February 1st, 2014, 01:29 AM