PDA

View Full Version : Still planning to use Ubuntu 12.04 LTS.

rodel_catajay
January 29th, 2014, 01:50 PM
This summer, after the school ends here in the Philippines, I will start venturing in Ubuntu. Hope you guys showers me with numerous encouragement and advises. At present I'm using Windows 7 Starter in my Samsung netbook.

Bucky Ball
January 29th, 2014, 01:53 PM
Thread moved to The Cafe.

Welcome. Good luck with that and post a thread in the appropriate forum if you have any issues. ;)

I advise you start getting aquainted with Ubuntu or one of its flavours now (you can run it from a disk or USB dongle) and perhaps start using some of the open-source software available in Windows; Firefox, Thunderbird, Filezilla, Libreoffice or Openoffice and the many others.

Also, if you are talking about April, 14.04 LTS will be released by then so you might want to go for that. Five years support release.

rodel_catajay
January 30th, 2014, 02:04 PM
sorry I'm just learning this out. actually this is my first time to joined in a forum. i joined because i want to study and use Linux.
Thanks.

Lars Noodén
January 30th, 2014, 03:13 PM
If you're feeling adventurous you could try 14.04 as a preview. The testing version is available already:

http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/daily-live/current/

A lot of things get fixed daily, usually small things, so be sure to update frequently if you try that. Then as April 17th approaches, things should slow down and stablize. But for most things, it is usable now and the advantage is that it is a Long Term Support (LTS) edition and will be good for the next 5 years.

Bucky Ball
January 30th, 2014, 03:33 PM
If you're feeling adventurous you could try 14.04 as a preview. The testing version is available already:

That would be a really bad place to start. It is stable most of the time, but expect unexpected breakages. It is not released until April, still testing and not designed or intended for Linux newbie consumption. I wouldn't go there.