PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] Windows 7 Hanging at Starting Screen after Dualboot Installation

ajdlc47
January 28th, 2014, 06:11 AM
Hello everyone, I have been struggling for a couple of days now trying to figure out why this happening. So I recently have installed Ubuntu Studio along side my existing installation of Windows 7 64-bit. I was having a really hard time trying to install Ubuntu Studio 13.10 along side my Windows installation. Once I finally got it working. I wanted to repartition my HD so it can have more space. Well, this is where things go bad, I am pretty new to Ubuntu so what I did was I just deleted the partition that Ubuntu was installed on and I ran the installation again via DVD. So it installed with some errors but once that happened I tried to reboot and I was stuck at the grub_rescue screen. I couldn't get out of it. Luckily, I was able to make a Boot-Repair Disc and I ran the recommended and that fixed the grub_rescue screen and I was able to get into Ubuntu. But, I didn't like that there were errors in the install so I retried that installation of Ubuntu again and it worked with no problems. I am currently in Ubuntu Studio right now typing this up on the web browser. But here is my issue, when I try to boot to the Windows install, it just hangs on the Starting Windows screen. I have an SSD so normally that loads pretty quickly. I have let it sit there for about 20 to 30 minutes and nothing. I have tried almost everything I could find. I have ran Test Disk but I don't get the option to repair boot, I have ran Boot-Repair and have tried some of the advanced options (I can't remember which ones but I think it was the fix Windows ones), and the one that is really throwing me off is I have tried to use a Windows Rescue Disc to fun the bootrec.exe /fixboot command but whenever I load up the disc it says it's not compatible with my system. I know I am using the right one. I have Windows 7 Home Premium 64-but edition and that's the Resc