PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Spring Framework: Deprecated warning in persistence.xml

zobayer1
January 27th, 2014, 02:59 PM
I am fairly new in spring framework, I am trying to use hibernate over jpa2 for mysql database server.
Here is my persistence.xml (http://pastebin.com/MB70LtPU) file, and, here is my pom.xml (http://pastebin.com/ESGmbK6L) file incase you need to check the version numbers of the dependencies.

IDE issues a deprecated warning in this line of persistence.xml:

<provider>org.hibernate.ejb.HibernatePersistence</provider>

I have done a little google, and seems like it has something to with the api versions, or ide's warning system. I am not sure how to fix the issue. Well, it may not cause a big problem at this moment, but what should be the correct way of doing this?

I am using Intellij-IDEA 13 as my IDE. App Server: Oracle Weblogic server 12c.
Thanks in advance.

hooflung64
February 23rd, 2014, 06:37 AM
You do not need to use the persistence.xml in spring if you are doing a local JPA container. You can do it all programatically and more importantly you can use Spring's Javaconfig method over the old-school xml configurations.

@Configuration
@ComponentScan({ "com.app.zobayer1" })
public class JpaConfig {

public static final DEFAULT_ENTITY_PACKAGE = "com.app.zobayer1.bo";

@Bean
public DataSource dataSource() throws Exception {
}

@Bean
protected HibernateJpaVendorAdapter vendorAdapter() {
HibernateJpaVendorAdapter adpt = new HibernateJpaVendorAdapter();
adpt.setDatabase(Database.ORACLE);
adpt.setShowSql(false);
adpt.setDatabasePlatform("org.hibernate.dialect.Oracle10gDialect");

return adpt;
}

@Bean
protected LocalContainerEntityManagerFactoryBean localEntityFactory()
throws Exception {
Properties props = new Properties();
props.put("hibernate.connection.release_mode", "after_transaction");

try {
LocalContainerEntityManagerFactoryBean factory = new LocalContainerEntityManagerFactoryBean();
factory.setDataSource(dataSource());