PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu 13.10 install on 64gb flash drive

joshua14
January 19th, 2014, 06:38 AM
Hello all, I am rather new to Linux but would like to get my feet wet. I don't want to install Ubuntu on my laptop yet however I want it on my flash drive so it is portable and easy to use on any computer that allows usb boot. I want to install the OS using the encryption method but I also want to partition the flash drive do Ubuntu gets 30Gb of space and the remaining 34 can be used as normal storage. I have watched a few YouTube videos but none of them have helped me figure out how to proceed. I also read the Ubuntu install guid with no luck. Is there a good way to accomplish this.

Some of you are probably wondering why I want the OS encrypted, well I don't want any data or personal information getting into the wrong hands and if the OS is encrypted it will be harder for some one to obtain this information.

jp734
January 19th, 2014, 04:01 PM
I don't think it will work the way you want it. Once you installed the OS, it will be only tailored for the hardware on that system. It works differently than the live version.

jp734
January 19th, 2014, 04:03 PM

oldfred
January 19th, 2014, 05:57 PM
As long as you do not install proprietary drivers it should work. Issues can be video or wireless drivers and different systems may need different drivers. But it usually works.

Is system BIOS or UEFI. Not sure if possible to configure for both like live install is, but since live installer can be both there may be a way but do not know.

I have full install on 16GB flash with 8GB for install and 8GB for data. But Windows will only read NTFS (or FAT) on first partition, so if you want to also read data from Windows the first partition must be NTFS.