PDA

View Full Version : Neither Ubuntu 13.10 nor Windows 7 are able to boot

jaege172
January 17th, 2014, 07:27 AM
Hello all,

I am new to linux/ubuntu and generally don't know a whole lot of terminology regarding boot loaders, etc, so hopefully someone here can explain it in a way I can understand.

I tried to install a dual boot ubuntu 13.10 alongside my pre-existing windows 7. I finally got it installed last night, but this morning I realized that windows was no longer in the boot selection menu. I had a buddy of mine take a look and he did some messing around but didn't really get anywhere. I did some further messing around using the boot repair, but still no luck. I went to my BIOS and I changed UEFI mode to disabled, and then enabled it again (for no reason, really). Now, I can no longer load Ubuntu or Windows 7. No matter which boot device I select I end up at the grub rescue command prompt. I've been using the "Try Ubuntu" option from my bootable USB and been trying to run the boot repair tool but have not had any success.

I have a Lenovo Ideapad Y-580, Intel core i7. I believe I have windows installed on my 700GB HDD and Ubuntu installed on my 32GB SSD (not 100% about this... how can I make sure?). My recent boot repair run gave me this link: paste.ubuntu.com/6766165. Note that I do NOT have the installation/recovery disk for Windows 7 (never got one with my laptop).

Please help, and thanks in advance!!

Bucky Ball
January 17th, 2014, 08:41 AM
Open Gparted and take a look. You should see your Windows partition(s) there marked as NTFS filesystem (or not).

Did you install in UEFI both Win7 and Ubuntu. That can be tricky if you don't do it right (you need to switch off secureboot and faststart in the BIOS and make sure you are booting and installing in EFI). If Win is installed in EFI, Ubuntu MUST be installed EFI.