PDA

View Full Version : VPN Usage

NertSkull
January 9th, 2014, 03:03 PM
So I always get great advice from people on these forums, so I thought I'd ask this question here.

I'm just getting into the VPN world and I have one big question on how to use it. Is there any danger in passing ALL your traffic through a VPN?

Details:

I'm not doing anything crazy or illegal. I just don't like the idea of my ISP looking into everything I do. But I also seem hesitant to do my online banking/personal email through a VPN. I don't know, but for some reason it seems like "bad" people would pay more attention to a VPN exit node trying to intercept traffic. I know my bank/email is SSL/TLS encrypted type stuff. So I know in theory it shouldn't matter. But I can't help but feel that I'm becoming more noticeable by doing it from a VPN exit instead of just lost in the masses of regular people using their ISP.

I'm I being overly paranoid? Is there realistically no difference between using the VPN vs my ISP to access the internet at large?

For example, lets take unencrypted data, like posting in a forum. I recognize on my ISP anything I do can basically be seen by others willing to take the time. But I would make the assumption that if I post in the same forum through a VPN it might get just a bit more notice and scrutiny as a potential target than the same material coming from an ISP. Is that a completely horrible assumption?

I guess this comes from polls I've seen asking people how they use there VPN. And most people appear to only "connect occasionally". Why not ALWAYS connect and send ALL your data through it? I recognize some people are trying to hide. But the matter still applies. Why not send ALL your data through the VPN, and then when you want to 'hide' connect to a different exit server for complete anonymity? You can get the best of both worlds that way. VPN privacy for day-to-day stuff from your ISP. Anonymity when you want it for "other activities".