PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 13.10, dual boot with Windows 8

shubham.twit189
January 3rd, 2014, 12:51 PM
Hey Everyone,
I am new to Linux and I tried to install Ubuntu 13.10 Desktop version on my laptop.

My laptop config are
Core i7 4700mq
12 GB DDR3
GTX 765m
120GB SSD + 1 TB HDD

Currently I am using Windows 8 and I want to dual boot it with Ubuntu 13.10

So I downloaded the amd64 version iso file from the main site and used the Universal USB Installer to make a bootable USB stick.
Everything worked so far and I was able to boot via my USB
But after the "Ubuntu" Logo I got an error. I cant do anything after that. I am just stuck there. No keys work there and I have to press the power key to shut off the computer.
Now I have tried 20 times but I get the same thing.
I put it again and again freshly but still the same error.

What am I doing wrong here?
Can you please guide me how to properly install this OS on my laptop.

P.S. The image is the error I am getting.

shubham.twit189
January 5th, 2014, 11:14 AM
Bump

Bucky Ball
January 5th, 2014, 11:37 AM
You won't get much help with that attitude. Forum users are all volunteers and under no obligation to help, but quite apart from that, people come here for the specific purposes of helping others and being helped themselves. If you have received no help to this point it would be because no one has anything to say or any help to give.

My guess is that, seeing as it's Win8, you have problems with EFI. If you have a pre-installed Win8 then it is installed with EFI and probably with secureboot set. It is a Microsoft thing. If this is the case you need to install Ubuntu in EFI mode also.

I'm no expert on this so perhaps you will get lucky and someone will jump in who knows about these things (EFI is new and there aren't a lot of experts).