PDA

View Full Version : LXDE-Core + tightvncserver. Chromium won't work

genivasla
December 19th, 2013, 02:45 PM
On a clean ubuntu VPS, I installed
apt-get install xorg lxde-core tightvncserver with the following xstartup settings:

#!/bin/sh

xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
#x-terminal-emulator -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
#x-window-manager &
# Fix to make GNOME work
export XKL_XMODMAP_DISABLE=1
/etc/X11/Xsession
lxterminal &
/usr/bin/lxsession -s LXDE &

I'm able to successfully VNC to the LXDE desktop. I then install chromium with:
sudo apt-get install chromium-browser

When I try to start chromium, the program launches and immediately crashes. When I try to run from the command line, I get the following message:

Xlib extension “RANDR” missing on display ":1"

For the life of me I can't figure out how to resolve this. I'm a newbie to all of this, and uncertain if this is an issue with LXDE or Tightvnc.

Any tips on what could be causing this? Let me know if there's any other information I can share.

steeldriver
December 19th, 2013, 03:26 PM
I think it means that your tightvncserver does not support the Xlib RANDR extension - however this usually isn't fatal, I get the same message starting firefox in an LXDE session over tightvnc, but it runs just fine. *If* that's what's causing chromium to crash (and I have doubts about that) then arguably it's chromium's issue for not handling it more gracefully. I *think* that the RANDR extension should only be required for stuff like dynamic display resiszing / rotation.

If you still believe the missing RANDR support is the issue, you could try vnc4server instead of tightvncserver

genivasla
December 19th, 2013, 04:20 PM
Thanks for the help. Any ideas on what else it could be? I literally only installed lxde-core and tightvnc. The only other setting that was made besides what was previously mentioned was the following to force tightvnc to start at boot...