PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] 10.04 -> 12.04 upgrade; Now root login hangs, other logins are fine

jjv
December 18th, 2013, 06:46 AM
Howdy,

I recently (finally) upgraded my notebook to 12.04. I assumed the upgrade would go well as we have three other identical notebooks and fresh installs of 12.04 were flawless. I guess I should not have upgraded during the full moon on Monday.http://ubuntuforums.org/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif

My notebook system was first installed with 8.04 (back in the dark ages ;)), upgraded to 10.04 and now 12.04.

The central problem I am facing is that while all user logins work correctly, a root login never gets off the login screen and hangs the system until it is restarted. I do limit the use of the root login. I have over 30 years of sysadmin experience, 23+ on Unix and the last 15+ years on Unix and Linux systems. Contrary to some opinions I do know what I am doing when logged into the root account.

Following the upgrade I had several issues as reported in xsession-errors (all cleared up), gdm (perhaps the root of the problem), dbus issues and nvidia driver issues (also cleared up).

The graphical login screen continues to look like 10.04 gnome and not the unity login screen. I did remove gmd, but then the system would not display the login screen at all. I regained access by booting into recovery and dropping to the command line, remounting / as rw and re-installing gdm.

nvidia seems to be working for all other users, I also moved the /root directory and replaced it with a blank one. The root login behaves the same, files created are only .pulse and .pulse-cookie.

Here are some specifics:

Dell M6300
nvidia FX 3600M

> cat /etc/issue
Ubuntu 12.04.3 LTS \n \l

> uname -r
3.2.0-57-generic

nvidia drivers present on the system (these are the only proprietary drivers on the system).

NVIDIA binary Xorg driver, kernel module and VDPAU library
NVIDIA accelerated graphics driver (version 173)