PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mobile Intel® 4 Series Express Chipset Family Driver

stompitude
December 8th, 2013, 02:04 AM
Hello.

Just to start this post I am completely new to Linux/Ubuntu I have decided that I would test this OS out, as after many years of being a heavy windows user with the release of the abomination that is Windows 8, I now feel forced to look for a replacement.
While I work in the software industry we provide Vehicle Tracking Software via SaaS I feel a little bit of warmth toward the open software movement and so Linux has to be my first port of call.

Now I am playing around with what is best described as a standard £300 laptop, there is nothing special about it, however I really wanted to play around with the OS for a few days get a feel for it and try to see if I can get all of my applications running as smooth as possible.

Now while there are no issues in getting all the software that I use for work to run on Ubuntu, before I install on my desktop which I use less for work and more for games I really wanted to make sure that I can get everything running on this laptop before making the conversion on my main machine.

Now to my question - this machine has Intel's Mobile 4 Series Express Chipset Family built into the motherboard and I know that on a clean windows install with all the latest updates/drivers install I can play games like world of warcraft with some tweaking to the system here or there, at around 25-30 FPS (note: I don’t really play on this machine but I wanted to get a benchmark before I try to get it to work on Ubuntu).

So I do a clean install of Ubuntu I then use the following command:

glxinfo | grep rendering

And I get a message in terminal on how to (what I assume is to install the drivers) as once I complete the process when I run the,

glxinfo | grep rendering

command again it then shows 'direct rendering: Yes'.