PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Dual boot with Win 7

Remember2Wipe
December 5th, 2013, 05:36 AM
Hello there and thanks for viewing my thread. So I got everything ready to install Ubuntu (first time) alongside with Windows 7. This is my first time dual booting o I just want to be sure I'm doing this right.

Everything was all fine and dandy until I got to the installation bit of Ubuntu.

Here's my Hard Drive layout as viewed through Windows 7 (see pic 1)

In one of my earlier threads, someone said to just install on unused space. When I'm choosing where to install Ubuntu, I just get this screen (see pic 2)

What should I do? Will installing it to that partition erase files?

Thanks in advance

ubfan1
December 5th, 2013, 08:18 AM
Are you sure they are the same disk? The windows disk has 22G free, and is 596G total, while sda is 640G with no partitions at all.

fantab
December 5th, 2013, 12:59 PM
Boot with Ubuntu and 'Try Ubuntu without installing', open Terminal [Ctrl+Alt+T], run the following command and post its output here:

sudo parted -l
sudo fdisk -l

Another thing, was this HDD ever part of a RAID Setup? Get into your BIOS and check what mode is SATA set to....

ubfan1
December 5th, 2013, 06:23 PM
Also check for an option "Dynamic Disks" under Windows and turn it off if present.

Remember2Wipe
December 5th, 2013, 10:40 PM
Trying this first.

Following this guide. Where it says to click "Convert Dynamic Disk to Basic Disk" is greyed out when using the partition wizard. Does this mean it isn't a dynamic disk?
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/26829-convert-dynamic-disk-basic-disk.html

Remember2Wipe
December 5th, 2013, 10:58 PM
Did first thing. A bit confused since it says some apple and mac stuff on there. Never had OS X installed

Warning: /dev/sda contains GPT signatures, indicating that it has a GPT table.
However, it does not have a valid fake msdos partition table, as it should.