PDA

View Full Version : Can't uninstall installed tarbal.

Rubeast
December 4th, 2013, 12:09 PM
I'm relatively new to Linux and have gathered a LOT of info from these forums!
I installed Kubuntu a month ago and I really like it.

Today I downloaded and installed the copy.com software on my system. (It is something like dropbox)
In the install-wizard it asked the folder I would like to use to sync data with.
I chose the home folder and it automatically went to the next step, I couldn't go back and change it, so I cancelled the wizard, but it already was too late.

I can't move the folder now. It gives me "Failed to move your copy folder" message.
It also seem to have messed with my permissions, but am not really sure.
So I would like to uninstall. But I can't find an uninstaller script.
This is the content of the directory: http://imgur.com/z4uWIfI
You can find the download here: https://copy.com/install/linux/Copy.tgz
I also tried some commands with make, but I can't seem to get it working.

Lars Noodén
December 4th, 2013, 12:58 PM
There isn't an uninstall script. That's one of the big reasons why it is so highly recommended to stick only with packages, preferably those from the repositories.

How exactly did you do the installation? The one tarball you have seems to have pre-compiled binaries. If you copied those manually, then you'll have to uninstall them manually, too. If all you did was unpack the tarball and leave things there, then all you have to do is delete that directory and its contents.

heir4c
December 4th, 2013, 01:02 PM
There is nothing to uninstall because it start up with the executble file: CopyAgent
You had to make a account before you use it. So, there must be a account online, no?
So, go to your account and I think you can change it there.
I downloaded it and extract it. And I could start it up but I don't created a account and close the window.
So I don't now how it go further.

Rubeast
December 4th, 2013, 01:52 PM